Moms at Home

Awaken your Centsabilities!

SlowCooker Chicken and Italian Sausage Gumbo

Leave a comment

20121011-165916.jpg Since I need to go to the grocery store and couldn’t get there this morning, I needed to create something for dinner that utilized only what I had at home. I knew that I had chicken, Italian sausage and rice because I bought extra of each of those items when I last went grocery shipping. A couple of weeks ago we had Jambalaya at my 11year old’s request and it was a hit! So, I thought I’d give Gumbo a try. It’s pretty good and all went well except for when I dropped my phone into a pot of rue while trying to photograph it for this particular blog!

I’ve never made this before so I combined a couple of different recipe suggestions. The common trend amongst Gumbo talk was that no one makes it the same and there really isn’t a right or wrong way, a long as it begins with a rue. So feel free to experiment and play with my recipe. I will!

Rue:
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup butter
3 Cups Chicken Stock (low sodium)
1Tbs Cajun Seasoning
Dash Cayenne Pepper
1tsp Black Pepper

Melt butter in small saucepan. Gradually add flour while whisking constantly. Bring to a boil. Add to crockpot. Whisk in chicken stock and spices. Turn crockpot on low.

20121011-172114.jpg
1-1.5lbs Chicken cooked and shredded
1lb Italian Sausage (I used sweet but you can use whatever you want, even smoked sausage, chorizo or kielbasa)
2 cloves garlic
1 bag pepper stir fry mix (or one onion, one red and one green pepper, all diced)

Cut sausage into bite size pieces. Add about a TBS of olive oil to frying pan. Begin browning sausage, add in chopped garlic, mixed onions and peppers (fresh or frozen stir fry style.

20121011-172235.jpg I always use Bird’s Eye Peppers and Onions. Best time saver EVER).

20121011-172658.jpg
Cook until done.

20121011-173249.jpg
Add to crockpot mixture.
20121011-172826.jpg
Cook on low 3-5 hours. Serve over hot cooked rice. Serves 8 to 10

Author: Erica Buteau

Erica Buteau is head chef at Chateau Buteau where she cooks for a family of seven, also known there as Mom, Nonna, Babe and sometimes referee. She lost 180 pounds by following a low carb diet and incorporating DDP Yoga into her lifestyle. Additionally, Erica is an Associate Professor of Technology at a Community College and also does freelance writing, blogging and is heavily involved in Social Media and Online Marketing, PR and Marketing Measurement and Communications Research. Her PR Friendly blog, ButeauFull Chaos! focuses on product reviews, parenting, living healthy, weight loss, being a mom, empowering women, grandparenting, children and teen's issues (including Autism, ADHD, Childhood Bipolar Disorder, Learning Disabilities and teen pregnancy and parenting), family travel and recipes.

Leave a Reply

